Wes.

Wes Anderson.
The first director in which all his movies I’ve watched thoroughly without stopping it in the middle or Googling the rest of the story before the movie ended.It goes without saying, I was deeply fascinated by all the movies he directed, even the professedly worst one like the Aquatic Life of Steve Zissou.

I am not a big movie-watcher and certainly not a movie freak.I didn’t finish more than half of the movies I watched, unless I watched it in the cinema then I have no other choices.The few movies that I watch over and over again are only The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and Into the Wild.My knowledges of movie and the movie universe are limited.When people talk about how great Woody Allen, Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan, Francis Ford Coppola, or Sofia Coppola’s movies are, I only nodded, not in agreement but in confusion for I do not know better.So you will not find some deep and witty reviews of Wes Anderson’s movies in this post.I only want to share my adoration towards his pieces of art and persuade you to at least give it a try to watch his movies.

Wes Anderson

This fairly good looking guy, Wes Anderson, delivered a movies that I could actually enjoyed, genuinely enjoyed.A movies that I watch by my own will and not because someone’s recommendation.I utterly enjoy his choice of vintage-ish color palletes in his movie, his choice of actors and actresses , his peculiar characters, his distinct characteristic in each movies along with his remarkable trademark and of course he completed all of it with a very good choices of music score and soundtracks.

Moonrise Kingdom was very big last year in 2012 and I can understand why.Although the story will makes you frown because it was about a 12 year old slightly troubled boy and girl who fell in love with each other and decided to run away from their family and basically their life (I frowned when they french-kissed by the way).Driven by curiousity, I began to search for his masterpiece movie and came acrossΒ The Royal Tenenbaums.The Royal Tenenbaums was the idea of a perfect movie for me.It was funny, depressing, and heart-wrenchingly good at the same time.Topped it with a fantastic cast that includes Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow, Luke&Owen Wilson, Gene Hackman, Anjelica Huston, and Bill Murray.After the Royal Tenenbaums, I watched The Darjeeling Limited which starred Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Scwhartzman.Much like the Royal Tenenbaums, The Darjeeling Limited focused on a story between siblings with a distance parents and a seemingly troubled character with their own quirks.The next movie I watched was The Aquatic Life of Steve Zissou.Although it received a very low review and was depicted as the worst movie from Anderson, I came to enjoy it very much for it has one of the most beautiful picture motions and a very good music (The near last scene underwater with Sigur Ros’s Staralfur in the background really breaks my heart in a beautiful way). And then I watched Rushmore, which perhaps along with Moonrise Kingdom should be the 1st Anderson’s movie to watch in order to hook you up with his works. The last one I watched was Bottle Rocket, which was average and do not really grab my attention.

Why do I like Wes Anderson’s movies so much? I do not know exactly why his tone of movie really really grab my attention, it’s like, if my life is a movie, I’d love to have it in this tone of color.Β 

The Darjeeling Limited (2007)
The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
Rushmore (1998)

 

The Life Aquatic of Steve Zissou (2004)

 

Bottle Rocket (1995)

 

Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

There are always cool stuff in every movie that makes me want to own it, but my favorite cool stuff are the set of suitcases inherited by the Whitman brothers from their late father.

Jack, Peter, and Francis Whitman with their Father’s suitcases.
The suitcases were designed by Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton

And for some reason I can’t really fathom either, his avid obsession of Futura fonts to characterised his movies also become my fascination.Maybe because it puts on a striking and memorable vibe and I like it a lot, I like distinguished strong characteristic in books or movies, like how there are always a cat in every Murakami’s books. That kind of stuff fascinates me.

Futura
Typical Color Palette
Typical Color Palette

Speaking of Murakami, it just rings me in the head (really, just like a second ago while I am writing this) why do I like Wes so much? I think there’s a resemblance of Murakami and Wes’s works.In the way they try to distinguished their works with others by a distinctive symbolization.And that’s what fascinate me the most.Wes trying to characterized his works by continually using the same fonts, and casts, and color tone and the way the story always revolves around an oddball characters.The characters are either a douche like Zissou and Royal or they are slightly mentally troubled like Whitman brothers, the Tenenbaums, Suzy and Sam or Max Fischer.While Murakami characterized his works by its’ story which always revolves around weird dreams, alternate realities, and alienated main character.

In brief actually, I can make a bingo out of them, and I love them for that.Β 

Bingo!
Bingo!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

