Oversimplification of Gratitude

The Shins – “Simple Song” from DANIELS on Vimeo.

Property of Columbia Records

Well this is just a simple song
To say what you’ve done
I told you about all those fears
And away they did run
You sure must be strong
when you feel like an ocean being warmed by the sun

When I was just nine years old
I swear that I dreamt
Your face on a football field
And a kiss that I kept
Under my vest
Apart from everything, but the heart in my chest

I know that things can really get rough when you go it alone
Don’t go thinking you gotta be tough, and play like a stone
Could be there’s nothing else in our lives, so critical
As this little home

My life in an upturned boat
Marooned on a cliff
You brought me a great big flood
And you gave me a lift
Girl, what a gift
When you tell me with your tongue
And your breath goes in my lungs
And we float over the rift

Remember walking a mile to your house
Aglow in the dark
I made a fumbling play for your heart
And the act struck the spark
You wore a charm on the chain that I stole
Especial for you
Love’s such a delicate thing that we do
With nothing to prove
Which I never knew

There are lot of love songs out there but nothing captivated me with its words as much as Simple Song by The Shins.

Why do I like it so much it becomes one of the most played song in my iTunes?

“I told you about all those fears and away they did run”
I am awed by the idea of telling someone you thoroughly trust about your fears and the fears just gone after you tell them. And all that feeling of reassurance come because you know and believe that you are no longer going to face that fears alone. You have someone to count on to.

“You sure must be strong, when you feel like an ocean being warmed by the sun”
Those soothing feeling of solace you find in this person makes you feel like an ocean being warmed by the sun. Which is one of the most beautiful, heartwarming, and loveliest thing ever. A dazzling ocean, being warmed gently by the sun. The feeling is similar to the pleasing feeling of seeing sun shines through your window or feeling a wind gently blowed your hair or basically the feeling of watching Ghibli’s movies.

“My life in an upturned boat, marooned on a cliff”
Before this person arrive in your life feels like in the edge of crumbling apart. You feel like an upturned boat hanging in the cliff. But then this person comes, and along with their arrival there comes a flood which gives you a lift to carry on with the hardships in life.

You brought me a great big flood, and you gave me a lift. Girl, what a gift”
Which is why they are a gift.

And this is just a simple song, to tell them what they’ve done to us. Simple because it is just a song and incomparable not even the slightest of their impact in our life. Therefore, A Simple Song, is an understatement of how much you are actually thankful for them, it’s an understatment of how thankful you are to them for lifting you up when you feel like all hopes are lost.

It is then, an oversimplification, of gratitude.

 

Love is such a delicate thing that we do, with nothing to prove. 

I love you.

You are my simple song.

One Reply to “Oversimplification of Gratitude”

Leave a Reply

