2015: Life is an Endless Journey of Discovery

welcome

“We can’t be afraid of change. You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but if you never venture out of it, you will never know that there is such a thing as an ocean, a sea. Holding onto something that is good for you now, may be the very reason why you don’t have something better.”
C. JoyBell C.

Time flows in a strange way indeed. It seems just yesterday that I started the first day of 2015 and now I’m hours away to the first day of 2016. I’ve never look at New Year as a huge thing or a day to celebrate but I am quite keen of reviewing each year of my life, to look back and to see what have I done for 365 days that God has given to me.

Looking back doesn’t mean dwelling in the past but rather a moment I take keenly for looking back and contemplating means to be grateful for all the kindness God has bestowed upon me. In brief, 2015 has been one of the best year in my life, another journey and another people to meet, another things to be grateful of. In 2015, God has bestowed upon me kindness in a form of these few things I list below.

  1. Started a new job in Growmint Digital Agency

I got into Growmint Digital Agency on January 21st 2015. I still remember vividly the first day I got into Growmint, a cozy house with an edgy working space and a nice backyard to lounge around and smoke. I’m a quite reserved person and introducing myself to a bunch of new people has never been easy to me, but, through God’s kindness, I was introduced to a group of people whose become not only a work colleague but also a friend for life. But, the blessing of getting into Growmint didn’t only come from the people I encountered while I was there, but also the things I’ve learnt during my time there. I discover that I have a huge interest in digital media, social media, the technology that has transform the world today. I once again met a good mentor, Kak Iree & Kak Chacil, who taught me a lot of thing and in the same time inspire me with their brilliant thinking. I met people whom I can call my sisters and brother, Kak Pritha, Kak Jacko, Kak Indra. Through Kak Pritha and Kak Jacko I learnt to be empathetic, to open up and to truly listen to others. Through Kak Indra, I learnt about hard work and determination, how to not care about people’s opinion about you and march through difficulties to achieve your goals. I met a twin, a person with the same ambition as mine, Rahardian, and yet he’s packed with more determination, something I’m lacking of. Ian wasn’t only my working counterpart, but something more, someone who continuously remind me to strive for the best and to cultivate a strong work ethic and professionalism. I met Mbak Hana, a lover of words, just like me, and yet she possess something I don’t possess, a well-expressed and eloquence of our native language, Bahasa Indonesia, and for that she continues to mesmerise me with her quirks and fluency in literary words. I met Fitrong, a happy pill whose life filled with positivity, the kind of people who will never fail to make you smile because of her positive attitude and her fond expression towards the people she loves. I met Ayu Nathasa, a person who taught me to think before speaking, to enhance my willpower and not let personal judgment gets in the way of our life. Asides from them, everyone in Growmint has their own distinctive character which brings a burst of beautiful colour to my life and I’m truly grateful for it.

2. Shedding lights into what I want to learn in the future and a step forward to finding the true purpose of my life. 

I frequently ask, what is the purpose of life? I don’t want to be a person whose life is lived with no questions asked and with no purpose. Everyone has a purpose, I have a purpose and I want to find it. To be frank, I was quite tortured having to work for an advertising agency for selling things to people is not the thing I want to do for living. I fail to see or maybe I refuse to see that advertising help people to improve their welfare and I want to have a career and a job where I could help people to improve their welfare and to develop. But, I believe that God will never put you into some place without having His own hidden purpose and I feel like maybe, by the end of my day in Growmint, I finally learnt that what I want to do is to find a job where I could unite my interest and skills in digital media with my idealism to help people with my job.

3. Getting out of my comfort zone. 

Growmint is my comfort zone, I’m surrounded by people who motivates me to go to work everyday, and leave the office with a smile because I’ve spent it with amazing people. But, to truly grow, I have to get out of it and I decided to go, to pursue what I’ve always wanted to pursue: a job in which I could challenge myself into someone more than who I am before and to align myself with the direction that I want to go in life.

4. Accepted into British Council. 

Even now, as I’m typing this, I can’t believe myself that I am adequate enough to work in this organisation. As the Force is awakened with the launch of Star Wars VII, and so was I. I was awakened with a recharged purpose, a clearer way of seeing things, a new beginning. I’ll be starting 2016 with a job in an Arts programme of British Council. I am once again, a programme officer, in an NGO, a career that I’ve always want ever since I graduate. But, the great thing is, I actually get to work for its’ digital communication and that’s what I really want to do, spreading goodness through digital media.

and so, 2015 ends, with moments to remembered and to be grateful of. I can’t wait to be more revitalized in the upcoming 2016 and to be even more grateful to God for the life He has bestowed upon me.

Farewell, 2015. It’s been a great year. Happy New Year to all of you and may you find your purpose of life.

“At the center of your being
you have the answer;
you know who you are
and you know what you want.”
Lao Tzu

Tinggalkan Balasan

